Skip to Content

Five new faces for City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters


The City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters will welcome five new Elected Members following the 2022 Local Government Elections.

Mayor Robert Bria, who was returned for a sixth term, said he was excited to see a group of talented people joining the Council.

“The new group of Councillors will bring new ideas, enthusiasm and vigour to the Chamber, which I am confident will be of great benefit to our community,” Mayor Bria said.

In West Norwood/Kent Town Ward Grant Piggott was elected unopposed after Fay Patterson chose not to run for a second term, while in Maylands/Trinity Ward, Victoria McFarlane recorded a convincing win to replace the retiring Mike Stock.

In St Peters Ward, Claire Clutterham takes over from the retiring Evonne Moore, with Josh Robinson joining Kevin Duke in Payneham Ward after long-standing Councillor Carlo Dottore decided not to re-contest the election after 39 years on the Council.

In Torrens Ward, Hugh Holfeld defeated stalwart John Minney.

Mayor Bria thanked the five Councillors who were not continuing for their service, saying a lot of knowledge and experience has been lost.

He paid tribute to John Minney for almost half a century of service to his community, a feat he said would probably never be repeated.

Mayor Bria also congratulated Councillors John Callisto, Kevin Duke, Connie Granozio, Garry Knoblauch, Christel Mex, Kester Moorhouse, Scott Sims and Sue Whitington who were re-elected.

Mayor Bria said the City was entering a “very exciting time with a number of major projects and initiatives set to be delivered in the next 12 to 18 months”.

At the same time, he said it was important the new Council understands and responds to the challenging economic environment, particularly cost of living pressures.

The new Council will be sworn in on Wednesday, 23 November and meet for the first time on Monday, 5 December.

Media enquiries: Robert Bria 0431 754 077