Skip to Content

Local Citizen of the Year and 26 new Australian citizens


The Council’s Australia Day and Citizenship Ceremony celebrated the work of a long serving Justice of the Peace, while also welcoming 26 new Australians.

Justice of the Peace, Sudhir Thakur, received the 2022 Local Citizen of the Year Award.

After reading the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance, 26 residents―from Bangladesh, Canada, China, Hungary, India, Kuwait, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam―became Australian citizens.

View image gallery

Click on an image to start image gallery.

To find out more, visit: Media Release