Skip to Content

City Wards

The City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters is comprised of six wards, which are structured in a logical manner and exhibit boundaries that are easily identifiable.

Ward Map Thumb

Each ward is represented by two Elected Members, with the exception of the Maylands/Trinity ward, which is represented by three Elected Members.

Elected Members & Ward Map

The following factors are taken into account when determining ward structures:

  • communities of interest (e.g. economic, recreational, social, and regional factors)
  • physical barriers (e.g. major roads)
  • historical factors
  • that population size is approximately equal (taking into account the growth of the developing suburbs).

In determining ward boundaries, the Council takes into account the average ratio of elector numbers for the area and then compares this with the actual ratio in any one ward.

The Council is required to review its ward boundaries every eight years, or in the event that a variation to this ratio is greater than 10 per cent.